Musical Theater Makes Me Uncomfortable

I hate when someone sings in public. No matter how amazing their voice is, I always cringe and secretly (not so secretly) wish they would stop. I don’t like musicals or musical theater, and I definitely hate audience participation, unless it is a comedy show and someone is being made fun of.

cats

I saw this with my Mom and it was the literal worst.

 

I get second hand embarrassment really easily, I can’t even watch Wife Swap. I think I am more embarrassed for others than for myself. Not that I don’t do things that are really embarrassing (I have been described as the “most awkward person” by more than a couple people), but I had food poisoning on a road trip once, and since then nothing really embarrasses me. If you’ve truly had food poisoning, you will understand. I call that “the trip I lost any shred of dignity and several pairs of my favorite jeans.” Plus if you’ve met my husband, you’ll understand my tolerance for embarrassing behavior.

IMG_0893

Not too much phases me these days.

 

In Denver i worked for a non-profit that was holding a gala event, and a part of the gala involved the local performing arts school doing various broadway songs. Basically the worst thing ever, I would have paid money to avoid it. The end of the show culminated in “Let the Light Shine In” from Hair. I had to see a rehearsal at the school and it was just me and maybe 3 other people in the audience. There were about 20 kids on stage and they came at me, smiling and emoting. There was no avoiding eye contact, and I was sweating profusely. It was my nightmare. You could have thrown 30 spiders directly at my face, and I would have been cool with it as long as it meant I could leave.

In short, please don’t sing around me, unless you’re being ironic or hilarious.

Leave a Reply

